Are you happy for living “NAKED” in this big data age?

I solemnly swear that I am certainly up to good! –Adapted from Harry Potter classic lines by ME.☺ And I am sure that is what big data age would say to all Internet users on the first day it appeared.

Big data makes life easier!

The relation between big data and individuals is mutually beneficial cooperation at the very beginning. And it is indeed that the new age of Internet brings convenience. As for me, a customer, I find online shopping is a process of magic. After glancing over some makeups, I will discover pictures of my preference when I use Instagram. This process is called retargeting in the marketing area. In this way, companies could offer more effective promotion. Also, big data is useful in other companies’ procedure such as innovation and distribution. So, you see, big data not only makes an individual’s life more comfortable but also do good for companies.

Does big data make people “naked”?

Certainly yes! Take me as an example. In the big data age, data knows me better than I do. Sephora knows my every purchase, what, where and how much. Sleep monitoring app knows when I fall asleep, when I woke up, and even what I say when I am sleeping. Everyone has less privacy as long as he or she uses the Internet.

Can companies make money on individual’s data?

Standing in the companies’ shoe, the individual’s data is where most of the profit comes from. Companies are willing to use it to make money. However, I think NO!! Companies could not make money using an individual’s data!

Since last Spring when Cambridge Analytica misused data that Facebook made available to them as an advertiser on the network became public, privacy online is something that everyone concerns about. And Facebook chief Mark Zuckerberg admits responsibility for data misuse. Customers have rights to aware where their data goes and what their data is used for. I only permit a particular company to access my information when I trust it. That does not mean I trust every company on the friend list of that specific company. The permission does not mean that my information is the companies’ property. Right to use is different from ownership.

So, it is high time for the regulation of the Internet. I expect the government could do something. Additionally, companies should be ethical. To companies, the loss of credit outweighs the gain of making money.

Finally, I hope everyone read the privacy term carefully before sign up for an account. Especially now, when the government does not come up with specific Internet regulation.

What do you think of Internet privacy? Share your opinion with me!

One thought on “Are you happy for living “NAKED” in this big data age?

Leave a comment