You’ve got 9 seconds to marketing yours​elf!

Who wants to be fascinated? A man who wants to date with a beautiful girl. A marketer…… Almost everyone! However, as humans, we only have a 7-9 second attention span? That’s lower or about the same as an attention span of a goldfish! So, how can we be fascinated? Sally Hogshead shared her opinion in her Ted Talk. And, a test called FASCINATION ADVANTAGE ASSESSMENT will help you to know more about your strengths.

What is the Fascination advantage assessment?

Fascination advantage assessment is discovered by Sally Hogshead. Unlike other personality tests, the Fascination Advantage helps describe how the world sees you. You will learn the skills that help you make a good impression from the results.


After answering 28 questions, the test taker will get a result of primary and secondary advantages. Each advantage has 7 different types, including innovation, passion, power, prestige, trust, mystique, and alert. According to the explanation, people with innovation tend to be innovative problem solvers, while people with passions are likely to become relationship-builders with strong people skills. A leader who makes decisions needs power and an overachiever with higher standards always requires prestige. Trust leads a person to become a stable, reliable partner. Last but not least, mystique makes a good solo intellect behind-the-scenes and an alert guy could become a precise detail manager. With the effect of primary and secondary results, we can obtain the conclusion in the picture above.

Who am I?

This week, I took this test and got my result. At first, I did not believe in it. After sharing this experience with my friends, I found that the result is totally a description of how I performed in front of people. So, who am I? Or what are my advantages?

Mystique is my first advantage, and alert is my second. I am the archer archetype. An archer has analytical skills and requests hard data in an argument. That is me. I prefer to work with data rather than conceptual things and have a strong sense about analytic. When I work in a group project, I always listen to others opinions first and then share my idea based on facts and data. Also, I know that I have to make progress on my technical ability since an archer needs to be professional in order to choose solutions precise and sharp. The Fascination advantage assessment not only points out what my strengths are but also gives me a direction to become better.

Marketing using the idea of fascination!

Let’s go back to the beginning of this blog. Marketing is similar to online dating. Especially marketing oneself as a brand. Being fascinated is the first step to the success of marketing. we only have a 7-9 second attention span. Only 7-9 second! Without understanding the psychology of your brand and how customers view you, you’ll fail to fascinate them. So, I highly recommend everyone to take this fascination test. Only 5 minutes, you will know how to catch others eyes using your advantages. Even he or she is the one you love or your target customer.

If you have something share with me after knowing the result of the test, contact me. I’m looking forward to hearing from you!

Leave a comment